Throwback: Snowflake Sugar Cookie Scarf

This post was originally published on my old blog, From Honolulu to Eternity, on 13. December 2013:

“I have way too many works-in-progress to be indulging fun little crochet scarves that look like food…but when has that ever stopped me?  When I saw this free pattern by the legendary TWiNKiE CHAN pop up on my Pinterest feed, I knew I had to make one!

SONY DSC

Don’t you just want to eat it?  I justify making this project by telling myself that it stopped me from going out and eating an entire box of frosted sugar cookies.

SONY DSC

I substituted almost all of the yarn she suggested for whatever I had on hand.  Being out in Germany it’s hard to get the American brands of yarn that I’m used to in a timely manner. – If I’d ordered the yarn for this before making it I wouldn’t have gotten it until both the sugar cookie season was over and I had a screaming newborn to look after! – Luckily I have a huge stash of acrylic yarn at my fingertips.
SONY DSC
Most of the cookie bases were made with Lion Brand Homespun Golden (When I ran out of that I doubled a random ball of Red Heart that sort of matched).  The snowflakes are Caron Simply Soft, made with an F hook, and the frosting is a blue baby yarn I had on hand but lost the label for.
Scarf 4
Shameless selfie.  I’m pretty happy with the results and I can’t wait to wear this to a Christmas party sometime soon!”
Did you catch the sugar cookie scarf I posted about yesterday?  If not, look here!

2 thoughts on “Throwback: Snowflake Sugar Cookie Scarf

Leave a comment