Easter Outfits

SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSCHello my friends and flowers! Easter weekend in Germany is nice and long. With stores closed for Good Friday you can’t help but start a nice relaxing weekend early.  And a relaxing weekend (if there is such a thing when you live and care for a toddler) is just what I needed after the veritable crafting fit I’d had the week prior.  I don’t know what possessed me to think this, but a week before Easter I decided that Little Pickle and I needed matching skirts for an Easter egg hunt.  And matching skirts turned into matching outfits complete with shawls.  And then Papa needed a matching bow tie…and as you can see, I spent a lot of time at my sewing machine this week. Thanks to a very patient Papa who kept Little Pickle at bay while I sewed the fiddly bits and a very curious little one who is still happy to sit in my lap while I sew the easy parts, I was able to get them all finished.

Alas, the Easter egg hunt was not to be.  The weather was cold and wet and a soggy, teething toddler did not sound appealing to any of us so we stayed home and baked!  The Osterbrot turned out marvelously.  It was my first time using a German recipe and I was very pleased with how infrequently I needed to open my dictionary to get through it. (You can find the recipe I used here.)  I wanted to buy an Osterbrot from our local bakery so that I had something to aim for, but apparently it’s more of a Bavarian treat and we live farther north.  No matter, it’s delicious either way.

I hope you all celebrated this weekend in whichever fashion you like and for whichever reason suits you best.  Spring is truly upon us now.

4 thoughts on “Easter Outfits

Leave a Reply

