Toasty Feet

SONY DSCMr. Pickle celebrated his birthday a few days ago so there has been a bit of celebrating in our house.  I baked a scrumptious German Chocolate cake from scratch which was mostly devoured by a group of us.  I’d never baked that kind of cake before but I adhered to the advice and directions of my trusty Better Homes & Gardens Cookbook (which very rarely leads me astray) and the result was one of my best ever cakes.  Mr. Pickle was pleased. Baking was not the only gift to be had, however. Oh no! What kind of birthday would it be in the Pickle House without a bit of woolliness?  Unheard of. SONY DSC

Cold feet are a common complaint in our drafty house.  I believe I confided in you all before that I have never once finished a pair of socks so my poor family has had to warm their tootsies with store-bought socks and slippers.  Oh, the horror!  Well this week I put a small end to that, at least for Mr. Pickle.  These socks, knit up in bulky (or rather double stranded worsted) weight Patons Classic Wool are just the ticket for frozen toes.

The pattern I started to use was Fuchsia 12’s 10 Hour Sock Pattern.  I decided to use Size 10 DPNs since I don’t own 10 1/2s and knit the larger size. I found the directions for the larger size to be slightly underdeveloped, or perhaps I wasn’t reading them well.  I’ve started so many socks that the construction comes to mind quite easily so there may have been some moments where I only half read the pattern and made up the rest.  The second sock was knit from memory and I think the heel turned out far better.  Alas, they both fit perfectly and you can’t tell much of a difference when they’re on the feet.SONY DSC SONY DSCBulky yarn is a joy to knit since it flies by and I truly think it took me fewer than 10 hours to knit these.  It was a breezy and fun.  They do eat up quite a lot of yarn though! I used almost two entire skeins of Patons Classic Wool that I had earmarked for soakers for Little Pickle.  Since I already have a pair of longies on the needles for her I didn’t feel too bad about using her wool for something else.  It just means I need to buy more, right? Right. There can never be enough wool.

SONY DSC

4 thoughts on “Toasty Feet

  1. Ooh, the socks look so toasty! I am trying to decide what to make for the kids for the one a month challenges, socks are on my list but Feb is a short and busy month but with bulky yarn??? Maybe! I haven’t done them before and socks seem so scary (that’s why they haven’t made it off my list and onto my hook yet! ). Yours are definitely tempting me to give it a go. X

    Like

Leave a Reply

