Buckeye Baby Blanket

SONY DSCThis month started off with me in a bit of  a panic.  See, I’m not a very good planner and a baby shower that I was convinced was happening on a Monday was actually on a Sunday.  So the blanket that I started on Saturday afternoon, ahem, needed to be finished the next day! Thankfully I am a speedy crocheter and babies are small.   I didn’t have a chance to measure the blanket before gifting it but t works out to be a good car-seat size, I think.  Hopefully the blanket is airy enough to get some use during the hot summer when baby is due but not too “holey” that little fingers will get stuck.  Overall I’m happy with the way it turned out.   The parents are big Ohio State fans so the buckeyes were a must.

The yarn is acrylic sport weight held double in the middle, the red is Red Heart Super Saver, and the cream is Red Heart Baby (I think…).  The buckeyes are my own pattern and the leaf came from here.  The blanket pattern is the Rainbow Ripple Baby Blanket and can be found here. I used a 6.5 mm hook throughout.  SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC

As far as my theme this month (comfort, if you missed it) I think a baby blanket fits right in.  What more does a baby want in those early days than to be snuggled up warm with a fully belly of milk?

SONY DSC SONY DSCThanks for stopping by! Can’t wait to show you more comfort woolliness in the days to come!

 

5 thoughts on “Buckeye Baby Blanket

  1. That is gorgeous! I had never really thought of a circular blanket but it is an ideal shape to wrap a baby in. The two colours together work really well.. I too had a rush gift to make last week and I used 3 threads together with a large hook!! I like quick projects 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

