Rainbow Babywearing Blanket

EDIT:

For a photo tutorial on the star blanket pattern, click here.

To see my other, DIdymos inspired babywearing blanket, click here and here.
SONY DSCSONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSCSONY DSCHot off the hook this week is a babywearing blanket inspired by Right to Cuddle.  I don’t usually make to sell, but I was offered a fantastic trade for my skills and couldn’t resist.  I loosely used this star afghan pattern with an assortment of Red Heart yarn from my stash and a US size I crochet hook.  The buttons are vintage and make the size very adjustable for little babies to toddlers and all the mamas with curves.  I am almost sad to see this one go!  If my wrist wasn’t in so much pain from crocheting this beast in three days I’d almost consider starting another one for myself…hmmm choices, choices.

There’s much yarn to be seen and made with in these days to come.  I’m looking forward to the next year in my saga with hope, patience, and a healthy dose of whimsy.  See you all in the new year!

This post was linked up on Annemarie’s Haakblog.

20 thoughts on “Rainbow Babywearing Blanket

    1. Thank you! I actually got the idea from Right to Cuddle’s babywearing shop. You can button it around you or wrap it around the straps of your carrier. So versatile. I think they show some different ways to wear their version on their website here. It’s actually a very simple pattern for a beginner. If you’d like to share a photo when you’re done I’d love to see how it turns out!

      Like

    1. Unfortunately I can’t measure this blanket since it was traded to another mama, but the other one I made myself (here) is somewhere around 1,2 meters. It all depends on your size and how big your baby is. I add several buttons to make it adjustable, as well. Mine still fits my toddler and I’d say I’m averagely sized 🙂

      Like

    1. So sorry for the delay in response! I used a larger hook than recommended. I think you can use anything as long as the hook isn’t smaller than recommended because then the fabric wouldn’t have the right drape. Feel free to share photos of your blanket when you’re done! I love seeing those.

      Like

Leave a Reply

